92Y Concerts on WNYC: Woodwinds


Music for winds by Dvořák, Poulenc and Debussy is performed by an international cast: members of the Ensemble Wien-Berlin*, French pianist Jean-Yves Thibaudet, a member of the Nash Ensemble from London** and musicians from the New York Philharmonic.

DVOŘÁK: Serenade for Wind and Strings, Op. 44
Randall Ellis, Hansjörg Schellenberger*, oboe
Alexander Fiterstein, Norbert Täubl*, clarinet
Frank Morelli, Milan Turkovic*, bassoon
Harry Searing, contrabassoon
Stefan Dohr*, William Purvis, Stewart Rose, horn
Timothy Eddy, cello
Kurt Muroki, double bass
Performance date: Sun, Apr 17, 2005

POULENC: Sextet for Piano and Wind Quintet
Jean-Yves Thibaudet, piano
Musicians from the New York Philharmonic
Robert Langevin
, flute
Joseph Robinson, oboe (retired)
Mark Nuccio, clarinet
Judith LeClair, bassoon
Philip Myers, horn
Performance date: Sun, Mar 13, 2005

DEBUSSY: Syrinx for Flute Solo
Philippa Davies**, flute
Performance date: Wed, Mar 21, 2007

Original Broadcast Date: May 3, 2008