Tokyo String Quartet debut – complete Bartok cycle (Part 1)


Plays: 333

Koichiro Harada & Kikuei Ikeda, violin
Kazuhide Isomura, viola
Sadao Harada, cello

The Tokyo String Quartet made their 92Y debut in 1977 with the complete quartets of Béla Bartók, only seven years after winning the prestigious Young Concert Artists award. They appeared at 92Y a total of 70 times and held the position of quartet-in-residence from 2003-04 until their retirement in the summer of 2013. For their final two seasons, the Tokyo String Quartet played the complete Bartók cycle again, juxtaposed with quartets by Haydn and other composers.

BARTOK – The Complete String Quartets (Part 1):
String Quartet No.2 [00.53]
String Quartet No.6 [29.55]
String Quartet No.5 [1.01.50]

Go to Part 2